Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Please Create A Marquee

School Board Members Receive McGuffey Awards

Comments from the McGuffey Award nomination included:
  • Erika Brown: "She has worked tirelessly to improve our school district. Erika drafted our DEIB policy to ensure that all students feel a sense of belonging. She was also a representative on the Bond campaign. She is an exceptional board member deserving of this distinction."
  • Kristin Smith: "Board President since 2020, she has become a strong advocate for school inclusion. Kristin has served in many organizations, including Colorado BOCES Association and three different PTOs. Under her leadership, she navigated the pandemic, hired a fantastic superintendent, and embraced Coherent Governance as a model for the board to follow."
The public is invited to meet President Smith and Board Member Katie Stewart during the Three Springs Fall Festival on Saturday, Oct. 28, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Look for the Durango School District 9-R tent, where there will be fun games, candy, and a chance to connect and ask questions about our schools.
Erika Brown and Kristin Smith with McGuffey Awards