How old does my child have to be to start school?
To enter kindergarten, a child must be 5 years old by September 1. Durango School District 9-R also offers a tuition based preschool at its elementary schools. Priority is given to children who are 4-years-old by September 1st and who live within the school attendance area.
Enrollment in district preschool programs is limited. Contact Libby Culver at 970-247-5411, ext. 1468, for information about the district's preschool programs, including Head Start, the Colorado Preschool Program, and tuition-based programs. More information about preschool programs can be found here
.Where will my child attend school?
Where you live in the district determines where your child attends school. See the district's current Attendance Boundary Maps
for enrollment areas.
I want to home-school my student but enroll him in a few courses that I don't have the expertise to teach. Will the district take home-schooled students?
Yes. It's called shared schooling. The district has two shared-schooling coordinators - one for elementary and one for secondary students. More information is available on our Shared Schooling Website.What are the immunization requirements for enrollment?
Colorado law requires that students attending school be immunized against vaccine-preventable diseases. When registering your student, you must bring in your student's certificate of immunization or have an up-to-date certificate of immunization on file at the school.
Beginning July 1, 2016, parents/guardians seeking non-medical (religious or personal belief) exemptions for children in kindergarten-12th grade must submit non-medical exemption forms annually. Medical exemptions only need to be submitted once and require the signature of your child’s doctor or advanced practice nurse. To submit a non-medical or medical exemption, go to www.colorado.gov/vaccineexemption
and follow the instructions. Children with an exemption may be kept out of school during a disease outbreak.